Google+ Followers

Sunday, September 1, 2013

Egypt’s Presidency announced the names of the 50-member Constitutional Committee

Adly Mansour, Egypt's interim President
According to the Constitutional Declaration issued by Egypt’s Interim President Adly Mansour on 8 July 2013 the 50-member Constitutional Committee should be formed in order to amend the 2012 Constitution issued by Islamist dominated Constituent Assembly.

The special technical team consisting from 10 members had studied the issue and proposed the amendments to the 2012 Constitution, and then the draft was submitted to the President. The next step is formation of the 50-member committee to fulfill the task of drafting the amended national charter which will be later put on the national referendum to be approved.

The 50-member Constitutional committee should include the representatives of all the political powers and social factions of Egyptian society including the representatives of police, armed forces, farmers, unionists, Al-Azhar, Coptic Church, intellectuals, public figures, youth and women.

Egypt’s Presidential spokesperson Ihab Badawy had announced the list of the names of the members of this committee on Sunday, 1 September, during the official press conference.

Here is the list of the Constitutional Committee members (according to Ahram Online material):

1. Diaa Rashwan (journalists): Head of Egypt's Syndicate of Journalists and Head of Al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic Studies.

2. Mona Zul-Fekar (human rights): A lawyer and Deputy Head of the National Council for Human Rights.

3. Mohamed Magd El-Deen (armed forces): Vice president of the military judiciary.

4. El-Sayed Badawi (liberal parties): A prominent businessman and Head of the liberal Wafd Party.

5. Mohamed Abul-Ghar (liberal parties): Head of the Egyptian Social Democratic Party and co-founder of the National Salvation Front.

6. Gaber Nassar (public figures): Law professor and Head of Cairo University.

7. Mohamed Salmawy (writers): Head of Egypt's Writers Union.

8. Bassam El-Zarqa (Islamist currents): Deputy Head of the Salafist Nour Party.

9. Amr Moussa (public figures): Head of the liberal Conference Party and co-founder of the National Salvation Front.

10. Sameh Ashour (lawyers): Head of the Lawyers' Syndicate, Head of the Nasserist Party, and co-founder of the National Salvation Front.

11. Shawky Allam (Al-Azhar): Egypt's Grand Mufti.

12. Bishop Paula (Coptic Church): Bishop of the city of Tanta and Head of the Coptic Orthodox Council for Marital Affairs.

13. Mervat El-Talawy (National Council for Women): Head of the National Council for Women.

14. Mohamed Abdel-Aziz (youth movement): Founding member of Tamarod Campaign and member of the Nasserist Popular Current.

15. Ahmed Eid (youth movement): Founding member of the 30 June Front.
16. Mahmoud Badr (youth movement): Founding member of Tamarod Campaign.

17. Amr Salah (youth movement): Founding member of the 30 June Front.

18. Mohamed Abla (artists): A prominent painter.

19. Sayed Hegab (High Council for Culture): A prominent poet.

20. Khaled Youssef (artists): A prominent filmmaker and member of the Nasserist Popular Current.

21. Gebali El-Maraghi (workers): Head of Egypt's Trade Unions Federation.

22. Ahmed Khairy (workers): Head of the National Federation of Egypt's Workers.

23. Mohamed Abdel-Kader (famers): Head of Farmers' Syndicate.

24. Mamdouh Hamada (farmers): Head of Egypt's Farmers Co-operatives Union.

25. Khairy Abdel-Dayem (doctors): Head of Doctors' Syndicate.

26. Osama Shawky (engineers): Head of Cairo's branch of Engineers' Syndicate.

27. Elhamy El-Zayat (tourism chambers): Head of Union of Tourism Chambers.

28. Abla Mohie El-Din (industrial chambers): Consultant for the Ministry of the Industry.

29. Ahmed El-Wakil (chambers of commerce): Head of Union of Commerce Chambers.

30. Mostafa Badran (students): Head of Egypt's University Students Union.

31. Talaat Abdel-Kawy (non-governmental organizations): Head of General Federation of Non-Governmental Organizations.

32. Azza El-Ashmawy (National Council for Childhood and Motherhood): Director of the Anti-Trafficking Unit at the National Council for Childhood and Motherhood.

33. Ahmed Mohamadein (Supreme Council for Universities): Head of Suez Canal University.

34. Hossam El-Massah (special needs): National Council for Special Needs.

35. Ali Mohamed Abdel-Moula (Ministry of Interior): Interior Minister'sAssistant for Legal Affairs.

36. Kamal El-Helbawy (Islamist currents): A prominent Islamist thinker and writer and ex-leading Brotherhood figure.

37. Hussein Abdel-Razek (leftist current): Deputy Head of the leftist Tagammu Party.

38. Mohamed Sami (nationalist current): Head of the Nasserist Karama Party.

39. Magdi Yacoub (public figure): A world renowned heart surgeon and founder of the Magdi Yacoub Heart Foundation.

40. Abdel-Gelil Mostafa (public figure): A leading member of the liberal Constitution Party and a Co-founder of the National Salvation Front.

41. Amr El-Shobaky (public figure): A prominent political analyst and head of the Arab-European Unit at Al-Ahram Center for Political and Strategic studies.

42. Saad El-Din El-Helali (public figure): Comparative Jurisprudence professor at the Azhar University.

43. Hoda El-Sada (public figure): Literature Professor at the Cairo University.

44. Mohamed Ghoneim (public figure): Co-founder of the Egyptian Social Democratic Party; a renowned Urology professor.

45. Hagag Adol (public figure – Nubian): A writer.

46. Mossad Abou-Fagr (public figure – Sinai): Writer and activist.

47. Mohamed Abdel-Salam (Al-Azhar): A judge and consultant of Al-Azhar Grand Imam.

48. Abdullah Mabrouk El-Naggar (Al-Azhar): A professor at the Islamic Sharia and Law Faculty of Al-Azhar University. 

49. Bishop Antonious Aziz Mina (Catholic Church): Bishop of the governorate of Giza.

50. Safwat El-Bayyady (Evangelical Church): President of the protestant community in Egypt.

The 50-member committee tasked with the amending the Constitution is given the term of two months to implement the changes to the national charter of Egypt. The committee is expected to hold its meeting in the building of Shura Council (Upper House of Egypt’s Parliament, currently dissolved).