Google+ Followers

Sunday, December 9, 2012

European Parliament urges to accelerate the implementation of the visa-free regime with Ukraine

European Parliament has issued recently the resolution urging to make the more decisive steps regarding the implementation of the more liberal visa regime between European Union and Ukraine.

The author of this project is Jaromír Kohliček, the Head of the Confederal Group of the European United Left / Nordic Green Left.

The authors of the project call for the European Council, European Commission and European External Action Service to take all the necessary measures to implement the more liberal visa regime with Ukraine in order to sign the future Association Agreement between European Union and Ukraine and to prepare all the documents for the process of its ratification.

European Parliament is positive about the development in the process of liberalization of the visa issuing process for Ukrainian citizens wishing to enter EU, but the author of the resolution stresses that the more decisive steps are needed.

It is also stated in the document that the negotiations between Ukraine and EU regarding the process of European integration of Ukraine and signing of the Association Agreement have been already finalized, but the process of its ratification has been suspended due to the negative estimation of the state of affairs with the systematically violations of the freedoms and rights of the citizens.

It’s also worth mentioning that European Parliament has already registered six projects of the resolutions regarding the situation in Ukraine, and those resolutions have been issued by six different political organizations controlling the political process in Ukraine.

According to the official procedures the members of European Parliament should work with all the six resolutions and issue later the joint text of the resolution and the joint statement regarding the Ukrainian issue which will be presented and put on the vote during the planned meeting of the European Parliament on 13 December 2012.