Google+ Followers

Monday, September 3, 2012

Members of Egypt’s National Council for Human Rights will be announced on Tuesday

Egypt's National Council for Human Rights

Secretary General of Egypt’s National Council for Human Rights Ezz El-Din El-Komy stated today that the names of the Council’s nominees will be announced by Shura Council (Upper House of Egypt’s Parliament) on Tuesday, 4 September 2012.

The list of the nominees will include 80 names; all the candidatures will be presented by the members of Shura Council and discussed during the special meeting. The list includes the representatives of Egypt’s Islamist forces, such as Muslim Brotherhood and Salafi’s Al-Nour Party, also the representatives of liberal, secularist and leftist political forces, some individuals and prominent figures and several Coptic Christians as well.

After discussion of the list Egypt’s Shura Council’s General Assembly will vote on this list, and twenty seven names will be selected for the membership in the new National Council for Human Rights (NCHR).

Egypt’s National Council for Human Rights is tasked with the defending of the social, civil, economic, political rights of Egyptian citizens, and all those rights should be granted to every person in Egypt without any discrimination or violation.

It’s worth mentioning that NCHR in Egypt faces its second reshuffle since the times of ouster of Egypt’s long standing President Hosni Mubarak on 11 February 2011.

According to the sources in Egypt’s Shura Council, the Upper House of Egypt’s Parliament has already officially agreed to appoint Hossam Al-Ghorayani, Head of Cairo’s Cassation Court, as a head of NCHR. A prominent Egyptian leftist figure, Abdul Ghafar Shukr, will take the post of deputy head.

The list of Council’s nominees will include a lot of prominent Egyptian figures, and there are among them:

Georgette Qeliny, Coptic lawyer and former MP,

Abdul Moneim Maqsoud, prominent Muslim Brotherhood’s lawyer.

Abdullah Badran, head of the Al-Nour party’s bloc in Shura Council,

Mohamed El-Beltagy, one of the most prominent leaders in Muslim Brotherhood,

Mahmoud Ghozlan, official spokesman of Muslim Brotherhood,

Edward Ghaleb, member of the Coptic Orthodox confessional Council,

Ahmed Seif El-Islam, secretary general of the Lawyers Syndicate,

Louis Graise, famous writer and journalist,

Mohamed Tosson, head lawyer in the Muslim Brotherhood and former chairman of Legislative Committee,

Wael Khalil, prominent leftist activist,

Mohamed Al-Damatti, head of freedoms committee of the Lawyers Syndicate and others.

Famous and respected Egyptian writer Alaa Al-Aswany rejected the nomination and refused to be a member of Council.

This official list of nominees is expected to be announced on Tuesday, and the future members of Egypt’s National Council for Human Rights will be appointed after Shura Council’s voting on their candidatures.