Google+ Followers

Friday, August 3, 2012

Egypt's new Cabinet was sworn in

Hisham Kandeel, Egypt's Prime Minister
The Egypt’s new Cabinet of Ministers appointed and presided by Prime Minister Hisham Kandeel was officially declared and sworn in today by President Mohamed Morsy at the presidential palace in Heliopolis, Cairo, as it was planned before.

Earlier on Thursday Hisham Kandeel held a press conference regarding the forming of the new government and confirmed that some of the ministers for the precious cabinet will remain in their positions, such as Field Marshal Mohamed Hussein Tantawy (Head of SCAF) who will continue to serve as a Defense Minister, Momtaz El-Saeed (Finance Minister), Mohamed Kamel Amr (Minister of Foreign Affairs), Mohamed Ibrahim Ali (Minister of antiquities), Nagwa Khalil (Minister of Social Affairs), Nadia Zakhary (Minister of Scientific research) and Ali Ibrahim Sabry (Minister of Military Production).

The new government also includes four newly formed ministries, among them the new Ministry of Water and Sewage, which is separate from the Ministry of Water Resources and Irrigation, Ministry of Youth and Ministry of Sports. The Ministry of Investment which was dissolved after Hosni Mubarak’s resignation will be reinstated in the new government.

The list of the names chosen by Hisham Kandeel for the new Cabinet was circulating in the media since yesterday, andhere is the review of them in this blog: Egypt's new Cabinet is selected by Prime Minsiter.

All the ministers were sworn in today except of the Minister of Civil Aviation Samir Imbady. He is currently out of the country according to MENA news agency.

Here is the new Egypt’s Cabinet, the names in alphabetical order (according to Al-Ahram):

Minister of Agriculture and Land Cultivation: Salah Abdel Mo’men, head of the Agricultural Research Centre.

Minister of Antiquities: Mohamed Ibrahim, who retained his post from the previous El-Ganzoury’s Cabinet, former professor of archeology at Ain Shams University, worked for Egypt’s Supreme Council of Antiquities at the Saqqara and Giza Necropolis archeological sites.

Minister of Communication: Hany Mahmoud, engineer, head of the Information and Decisions Support Centre of the cabinet.

Minister of Civil Aviation: Samir Imbady (but he is yet to be officially announced as he wasn’t sworn in today).

Minister of Culture: Saber Arab, who served as a Minister of Culture in El-Ganzoury’s cabinet for couple of months. He is former Chairman of the National Library and Archives of Egypt.

Minister of Defense: Hussein Tantawy, Field Marshal, head of the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces (SCAF), current Minister of Defense, served since 1991 under seven different governments.

Minister of Drinking Water and Sewage: Abdel-Qawy Khalifa, governor of Cairo since April 2011, previous CEO of the Holding Company for Drinking Water and Sanitation.

Minister of Education: Ibrahim Ahmed Ghonim, vice president of Suez Canal University.

Minister of Electricity and Energy: Mahmoud Balbaa’, head of the Egyptian Electric Holding Company.

Minister of Environment: Khaled Abdel-Aziz, assistant professor in the National Institute of Planning in the Economic Forecast Center 2004-2011, now an advisor to the center. 

Minister of Finance: Momtaz El-Saeed, retaining his seat from El-Ganzoury’s Cabinet, deputy finance minister in Essam Sharaf’s government, who spent his career working on state budgets.

Minister of Foreign Affairs: Mohamed Kamel Amr, also retaining his seat from El-Ganzoury’s Cabinet.

Minister of Health: Mohamed Hamed Mostafa, professor of medicine at Cairo University.

Minister of Higher Education: Mostafa Mosaad, engineering professor, who was responsible for the educational policy in Mohamed Morsy’s presidential team.

Minister of Housing: Tarek Wafiq, engineer, head of housing committee within the Muslim Brotherhood’s Freedom and Justice Party.

Minister of Information: Salah Abdel-Maqsood, journalist and prominent Muslim Brotherhood figure, longstanding member of the board of the Journalists’ Syndicate.

Minister of Interior: Ahmed Gamal El-Deen, General, assistant of former Interior minister, director of the Public Security Authority.

Minister of Insurance and Social Affairs: Nagwa Khalil, retaining from the El-Ganzoury’s cabinet, previously held position at the national Centre for Social and Criminological Research, was a member of the fact-finding committee investigating the violent events occurred during January 25 Revolution.

Minister of Investment: Osama Saleh, Chairman of Egypt’s General Authority for Free Zones and Investment.

Minister of Justice: Ahmed Mekky, Judge, prominent reformist judge, former vice-president of Egypt’s Court of Appeal.

Minister of Local Development: Ahmed Zaky Abdeen, governor of Kafr El-Sheikh, governor of Beni Suef in 2006, worked as engineer officer in Egypt’s Armed Forces.

Minister of Manpower: Khaled El-Azhary, leading member of the Muslim Brotherhood’s FJP, MP of the now dissolved parliament, active trade unionist appointed to the board of Egypt’s Trade Unions Federation after the fall of Hosni Mubarak.

Minister of Military Production: Ali Sabry, who held this post in the previous governments of Essam Sharaf and Kamal El-Ganzoury.

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs: Mohamed Mahsoub, board member of the centrist Al-Wasat Party and member of the Constituent Assembly.

Minister of Petroleum: Osama Kamal, Chairman of the Egyptian Petrochemicals Holding Company which belongs to the Petroleum Ministry.

Minister of Planning and International Cooperation: Ashraf Al-Araby, former head of the technical office of minister of planning under longstanding Fayza Abul-Naga.

Minister of Religious Endowments: Osama El-Abd, vice chancellor of Al-Azhar University.

Minister of Scientific Research: Nadia Zakhary, retaining seat from El-Ganzoury’s cabinet, professor of biochemistry and tumour biology at Egypt’s National Cancer Institute.

Minister of Sports: El Amry Farouk, former football player, businessman, member of the famous Ahly Club board.

Minister of Supply and Social Affairs: Mohamed Abou-Zeid, vice president of state-owned Food Industries Holding Company.

Minister of Tourism: Hisham Zaezou, who served as a minister of tourism in the 1990s. He was senior assistant to tourism minister in Essam Sharaf’s cabinet and head of the Egyptian Tourism Federation in 2004-2007.

Minister of Trade and Industry: Hatem Saleh, CEO of Gozour food industry group, a subsidiary of Citadel Capital, deputy head of El-Hadara Party formed after January 25 Revolution by reformist members of Muslim Brotherhood.

Minister of Transport: Mohamed Rashad, engineering professor at Cairo University.

Minister of Water Resources and Irrigation: Mohamed Bahaa El-Deen Saad, former head of the irrigation authority.

Minister of Youth: Osama Yassin, member of FJP executive office and member of the now dissolved parliament.